Biking Fitness

Since moving to Seattle, I’ve discovered the bike trails here and have started biking home.  I try to do it twice a week.  My route is 22 miles and is on paved bike trail around Lake Washington.  It wasn’t until my 4th or 5th ride that I was motivated to track my progress.  I have now seen my first significant bump in my average speed and decrease in total ride time.  What’s most interesting to me is what sparked the jump.

image

Specifically, there was a point in my ride (around the 17/18 mile mark) where I would just hit a wall/burn out.  During that time my average speed would decrease from the 16/17 mph range to the 15/16 mph range.  I tried eating and hydrating better before my ride and couldn’t keep my speed up. 

That changed on my ride on June 19th.  A couple of cyclists passed by me right around the time that I normally feel myself fading.  I was able to hold my speed and fill in behind them.  It was a challenging pace and one that I could keep up with.  I was able to keep my average up riding with them for the last 3 – 4 miles for an average of 16.7 mph.  Apparently just experiencing that pace allowed me to figure out how to do it on my own.  To my surprise, on my ride 1 week later I was able to pull myself at 17.4 mph.

Today is my first time riding since that bump up and I’m curious to see how I do.

Leave a Reply

