Seeing Bill Clinton

I never though anything could be more exciting than meeting Keri Russell but today I saw Bill Clinton speak at Microsoft and it was very exciting.

I arrived at the Microsoft Executive Conference Center on my bike around 8 AM this morning.  Today was a cold morning in Redmond and there was already a line the length of the building of employees waiting to get in.  If you were lucky enough to be a member of the Microsoft Political Action Committee you were allowed admittance before anyone else.  That’s how I got in.

Steve Ballmer made introductions.  Witnessing two people like Steve Ballmer and Bill Clinton on stage at the same time was pretty inspiring in itself. Not sure you’ll feel the same awe looking at the picture from my crappy cell phone but it was the best I can do (didn’t think they would allow cameras so I didn’t even bother to bring a good one).

As you can imagine, the room was pretty crazy, in my opinion this picture captures a lot of that: everyone standing, trying to take pictures with whatever device was in their pocket, people cheering like they were at a concert (you can see the woman in a green sweater) – kind of nuts.

bill clinton 2

I have to admit that I was most influenced by Bill’s response to the question: "Is it possible for you to be Secretary of State to Hillary, should she become president." 

It turns out that this is illegal based on Article 5, Section 3110 of the United States Code that was Passed in 1967 in response to John F. Kennedy’s appointment of Robert F. Kennedy to the post of Attorney General of the United States.

Regardless of that fact, Bill Clinton stated that even if it were possible that he believed that Hillary should not appoint him to Secretary of State in that he believed he could be more effective as a non-government figure when needing to represent her in places where she is not able to be and to continue in driving his foundation – a statement very similar to one made by Al Gore when explaining his reasons for not yet entering the 2008 elections.

This actually got me thinking…while I love the idea of Hillary as the first United States President in history, I have to say that in reality I had not been won over by her.  In fact, I found myself getting pushed closer to Obama by the minute.  But now the notion that electing Hillary is really like electing both Hillary and Bill, while a little bit scary, is also very powerful to me and something I might be willing to vote for.

2 Comments »

  1. Gary said

    That room was packed! Wish I seen you there. 😉
    Did you see Hillary last Friday? She was more convincing a choice for me.

  2. Ann said

    Great blog – I was so glad to be sitting next to you too!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

