Getting Started with Zune: 7 Hours of Hell

imageI’ll preface this whole thing by saying that I’ve been a hold out when it comes to a "media device".  I have never owned an MP3 player, iPod, Zune before.  I was getting ready to buy an iPod touch, but got swayed by the excitement of the Zune launch that I had to see what it was all about.  I got a Zune Arts Original ("Bird 2") with my name inscribed on it.  I’ve been anxiously awaiting the arrival of my Zune80 in the mail. Opening the box was like getting a present in the mail: a beautiful white box with a gold envelope and suede satchel inside.  I quickly took my Zune out of it’s home and turned it on – hoping to immediately experience some of the music and videos that I knew came pre-installed on the device.  Instead, sadly, the message I got was:

Please go to http://zune.net/getstarted

Or something to that affect.

When I try to type the URL in from memory I was directed to an error page on the Zune site.  I finally was able to navigate on my own, through the Zune web site, to a getting started page where I was instructed to install the Zune software.

Even though I had already created a Zune ID I still chose the "Download and Sign Up" option because I wasn’t sure if there was something else that I was supposed to sign up for.  When you’re already signed in to your Zune ID the "Download and Sign Up" button is confusing because it routes you to a page to customize your Zune card.  If it knows that I’m already signed up – why does it even show me the button?!  Stupid, but I can overlook that.

So I navigate back to the download page and click the download button.  Then I watch the progress dialog update itself to inform me that I have 2 hours, 37 minutes and 8 seconds more to wait before my Zune software is installed and I can being using my Zune.  WTF!?!

I decide to let it run – what other choice to I have?  I then immediately head to the Zune forums looking for troubleshooting topics on the issue.  I rummage around the site and can’t find what I’m looking for.  I spent another fruitless hour conducting Internet searches in hope of finding something – zilch!  2 hours later the install times out.  AWESOME!

So then I get the bright idea to save the installer to disk before trying to run this.  An hour and half later, I complete this successfully.  Now I’m ready!

NOT!  I run the Zune installation software and it gives me an error saying it can’t complete and redirects me to a KB article.  I then install the package from the KB article.  This takes another 2.5 hours.

Now I’m really ready!  Let’s get to it, f’ing Zune!

NOT!  I try to run the "startzune" executable extracted onto my system and it fails the same way.  I then have to rummage through a mysterious "x86" folder and randomly click on the various installer packages in there to figure out which one might be the fix for my problem.

image

After each "package" I try, I repeat my attempt to run the installer and continue to fail 2 more times.

I then go back to my desktop to try to run some of the other things that were extracted from the KB article installer and realize there is a shortcut for the Zune software on my machine.  Somehow it magically got installed.  I click it and it launches.  Great…but weird.

Just as I began to think that I solved my problem and I’m now really ready to use my Zune I have to get a firmware update:

image

Just another half hour – no big deal – it’s already been 5 and-a-half HOURS!

Now, officially 7 hours later, I’m synching my music to my Zune.  Maybe tomorrow I’ll get to actually listen to something.

Dare I say I’m wishing I got the iPod Touch.  F$*#!
This Zune better get really good, really quick!

2 Comments »

  1. Heather said

    You\’ve left me speechless Becky – totally unacceptable first run experience imho!!!

  2. Unknown said

    qswd013 wow gold wow power leveling oofay.us wowmine 隔膜泵 隔膜泵 隔膜泵 磁力泵 磁力泵 磁力泵 油泵 油泵 油泵 上海展览公司 上海展览公司 上海展览公司 阀门 阀门 阀门 空调 空调 空调 胶体磨 胶体磨 胶体磨 Cosmetic surgery Cosmetic surgery brogame brogame 菲律宾留学 菲律宾留学 菲律宾留学 东方医院 东方医院 东方医院 隔膜泵 油泵 上海展览公司 阀门 磁力泵 qswd00

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

